Dear Canada: A step back in time


Read a letter from the author

Janet Lunn

Janet Lunn's children's books always make award and bestseller lists. She is the author of over a dozen books, from novels to picture books to the reference book for middle-grade students of Canadian history, The Story of Canada, which she co-authored with Christopher Moore. She won the CLA Book of the Year for Children Award for The Root Cellar, the Canada Council Prize for Shadow in Hawthorn Bay and the 1998 Governor General's Award for Children's Literature for The Hollow Tree.

Janet is a member of the Order of Ontario and the Order of Canada. She is also the recipient of the Vicky Metcalf Award for Body of Work. In 2006 she received the Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life. The committee citation for the award called her "a beautiful writer and a meticulous researcher" and commended her "leading role in the flowering of literature and the arts in Canada, especially of Canadian children's writing." Janet also worked on her family history for her children and grandchildren. She passed away in 2017.

Dear Canada books by Janet Lunn:

  • Rebels Daughter

Check out Janet Lunn's other books.


I think the Dear Canada series is a wonderful addition to both Canadian children's literature and to the study of Canadian history. At Christmas time, along with the Canadian children I know, I always send one of the series to each of my young American relatives to give them some idea of who we are up here in the Great White North. As for being a part of this series, it has meant being part of a special family, one that not only loves our nation's history but relishes walking around in it.