Photo of Stand on the Sky

Stand on the Sky

Categories: Fiction
Paperback  Hardcover  Ebook  
ISBN: 9781443182805 Pages: 320 Ages: 9-14 Dimensions: 5.502" x 8.226"

About this book

She had always heard that the eagle chooses the eagle hunter. She wanted that. She wanted her eagle to come to her. To choose her.

It goes against all tradition for Aisulu to train an eagle, for among the Kazakh nomads, only men can fly them. But everything changes when Aisulu discovers that her brother, Serik, has been concealing a bad limp that risks not just his future as the family’s leader, but his life too.

When her parents leave to seek a cure for Serik in a distant hospital, Aisulu finds herself living with her intimidating uncle and strange auntie — and secretly caring for an orphaned baby eagle. To save her brother and keep her family from having to leave their nomadic life behind forever, Aisulu must earn her eagle’s trust and fight for her right to soar. Along the way, she discovers that family are people who choose each other, home is a place you build, and hope is a thing with feathers.

Erin Bow’s lyrical middle grade debut is perfect for fans of original animal-friendship stories, in the tradition of Pax and Because of Winn Dixie.

Reviews

Praise for Stand on the Sky:

Winner, Governor General’s Award for Young People’s Literature — Text, 2019

Short-listed, Rocky Mountain Book Award (Alberta Children’s Choice), 2021

Short-listed, IODE Canada Violet Downey Award, 2020

Short-listed, Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award, 2020

Commended, Best Books for Kids and Teens, Canadian Children's Book Centre, 2019

Commended, OLA Best Bets, 2019

“In writing that is both evocative and perfectly pitched for young readers, Stand on the Sky tells the heartfelt and gripping tale of a Kazakh girl who, despite cultural barriers, struggles to train a wild eagle. With its authentic voice, the novel transports the reader to the steppes of Mongolia and opens up a fascinating world where age-old tradition is overturned by one young girl’s bravery and determination.” — Jury citation, Governor General’s Award for Young People’s Literature — Text

“Bow’s poetic prose heightens the story and deepens it, her rich turns of phrase tucking their own sharp wisdom into the mix.” – Toronto Star

“[A] story of strength, courage, and resilience that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt abandoned, alone, or doubted themselves and their place in the world. “ — Quill & Quire

“[T]he story compellingly tracks Aisulu’s gradual maturation into someone who challenges not only the gender expectations of her family and culture but also herself.”— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for Erin Bow:

“Bow, a published poet, writes exquisitely.” (Plain Kate) — Quill & Quire

“Bow writes with an absorbing cadence, creating evocative images that trigger the senses and pierce the heart.” (Plain Kate) — Booklist

Extras

Discussion guide: Stand on the Sky

More books by Erin Bow

You also might like